The Most Awesome Thing I Wish I Never Learned: Peanut Butter Banana Mug Cake

I need to get this post out of the way before I go into any of the aforementioned “health” posts. As the title suggests, I wish I never learned what I’m about to share with you, but since it’s now a plague on my house, I’ve decided it should be a plague on both our houses.

And yes, that’s Shakespeare.

It all started when I had a craving for something sweet, but a pantry and fridge void of dessert-like items. This is on purpose I may add. I have zero will power when it comes to sweets, so I just try and keep the junk out of the house. Except this time I remembered something I came across online recently — MUG CAKE. As in CAKE in a MUG made in MINUTES. I googled direction, came across a few recipes, realized I had all the ingredients and improvised a recipe of my own for Peanut Butter Banana Mug Cake.

Use a big mug for this, or one-up that and divide into two mugs for two people.

In a large mug mix until smooth:

  • 4 Tablespoons Flour
  • 4 Tablespoons Sugar
  • 1/4 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 Egg
  • 3 and 1/2 Tablespoons Peanut or Almond Butter (I used Almond)
  • 1/2 Ripe Banana
  • 3 Tablespoons Milk
  • 2 Tablespoons Vegetable Oil

Pop your mug (one at a time if you’re making two) into the microwave for 1:40 seconds. That seems to be the magic time on my microwave, you may need to add or take off about 10 seconds or so depending on yours. Careful taking it out because your mug will be hot.

That’s it! Way too easy, right?

Give it a try and let me know how it goes. Or have you tried another type of ‘mug cake’ before? There are a ton of recipes, even ones that include Nutella! Me and my hips will be staying far away from that one!

One thought on “The Most Awesome Thing I Wish I Never Learned: Peanut Butter Banana Mug Cake

Leave a Reply

