Project 52: Mothers

This week’s theme is “Mothers” and I couldn’t help but use this photo I took of my own Mom last Sunday on Mother’s Day. She was acting goofy for this picture, but I just love how happy and vibrant she looks. And if you’ve been reading this blog for any amount of time, then you know we celebrated my Mom’s 60th birthday a little while back, so can I just say that this lady gives true meaning to the phrase, “Age is just a number.” Or maybe it’s “You’re only as old as you act.”

I think both work ;).

If you’ve been following the news lately, then you’ve probably seen the controversy around Time Magazine’s Cover and “Are you Mom Enough?” headline. While I have 0% first hand knowledge of what it’s like to be a mom, I feel I’m more attuned with the demands of parenting now that I’m watching my friends journey into motherhood, and I have several colleagues who are hard working moms. What I find hard to understand is how “judgy” people tend to be about motherhood and parenting in general.

I have no idea what ‘method’ of parenting my mom used, but I’d put money on the fact it wasn’t anything with a fancy study behind it or some random researchers name attached to it. I have no idea how long I was breastfed. Come to think of it, I don’t even know if I was (but judging from my cheeks, the answer’s probably yes). And I’m sure 28 years ago there were far less fancy gadgets/items/videos/etc to sooth, swaddle, engage, and turn baby into Einstein.

What I do remember is that we were loved. Like, big time picnics-in-the-living-room, bedtime-stories, trips-to-the-zoo, constant-hugs-and-kisses kind of loved. And whether that love comes from a Mom, a Dad, a step-parent, a grandparent or WHOEVER, in my humble opinion I believe that’s the key to it all.

Less worry, less judging and more love.

I think we can all agree the world needs more of it.

P52 with Kent Weakley
One thought on “Project 52: Mothers

  1. Thank you Diana for sharing and for all those things you carry in your heart.
    Did you say 60+ 🙂 🙂
    Yes, you were breastfed. I’d say for 9 months.
    No Einstein Toys. The big thing in the 80’s were the Johnson & Johnson toys.
    And yes, the key to raising you was to love you.
    You were the best baby daughter any Mom could ever ask for. And when your time comes, you will be a phenominal Mommy.
    xx00 Mom

Leave a Reply

