My Own Personal Nat-Geo

File this under “Needs to Get Out More,” but I’ve become a little bit obsessed with the little birdie family who has made their home in the tree in our front yard. Mama Bird had skillfully been evading the camera for a few days — I’d spot her, run back in for my camera and as I’d tip-toe back towards the tree she’d take off. That’s when I wised up and decided when I left the house the other day I’d do so with camera in hand, set and ready.

Boom.

She’s totally giving me the stink eye.

Yes, this is what happens when I put myself on a self-imposed Laundry-Lock-Down. I stalk birds. And then write about it. Because, yes, this was the highlight of my weekend.

Capturing Mama Bird was an achievement, but I really initiated myself into the nerd of the month club scored big time when I decided to break out the ladder and see if I couldn’t get a peak into the nest. And what do you know…baby birds!

I was itching to reach my hand in there and move some of those leaves out of the way, but I was scared I’d get too close to the nest and then Mama Bird would be sufficiently pissed off and not come back. (Right now I’m wondering if it’s true that if a bird smells a human near their nest they will abondon their babies, or if that’s just something my dad used to tell us so we wouldn’t peek inside the bird house. Any bird experts care to shed some light?)

I snapped a couple more pictures, started envisioning birds attacking me and decided it was time to call it a day. I’ll end with my favorite picture…

So cute, right?

I hope you had a great weekend! And don’t worry, I’ll keep you posted on the Robinsons! Get it?? The Robin-sons. :))

I think I just heard Joey getting the divorce papers together šŸ˜‰

Sweet Shot Day

5 thoughts on “My Own Personal Nat-Geo

  1. Fabulous pictures! Thank you for sharing. We have a blackbird nesting in a very prickly shrub every year. I can’t get anywhere near it because of the inch long spikes. At least it keeps the neighbourhood cats away šŸ™‚ Avis x

    • It’s pretty amazing how the blackbird knows to build her nest in there for protection! I think Mrs. Robinson is regretting on a daily basis her choice of real estate šŸ˜‰

  2. Pingback: Scenes from a Weekend: Little Bit of This, Little Bit of That « The D Spot

Leave a Reply

