Transitions

Mother Nature sure is delivering this week. Even though she has me back to walking the dogs at o’dark-thirty, she’s making up for it in 80 degree weather and evening light. It’s the time of year I realize that I’m so ready for the transition to spring, to break out the flip flops and to sit outside soaking in the pollen soaked fresh air. When it comes to the simple things in life, not much compares to the happiness of sleeping with the windows wide open, under warm covers with the cool breeze pouring in.

And as if one good transition deserves another, Joey just started work on a new project and with it comes overnight hours. We are the proverbial two ships passing during the week now, which can be hard to get used to. Thank goodness for my four-legged friends to keep me company. The transition is without a doubt harder on him, physically and mentally, and it reminds me about the fact that relationships take work. You need to think outside yourself, and find ways to support your partner. It can be as simple as a note left on the kitchen counter or making an extra run to the grocery store for their favorite dinner. The same holds true for friendships. I think we all get so wrapped up in our own lives sometimes that we forget to think outside of ourselves. I challenge you to pick three friends and to go send them a text message or an email right now letting them know you’re thinking about them. It will make you feel really good, I promise. And you never know who might just need a friend this very instant.

Here are my three:

Mrs. Cagg — Thanks for making my blog a part of your nightly ritual! Your compliments mean more than words. xo!

Julia — I know this makes me sound so old, but I am seriously so proud of you! You’ve always been so beautiful inside and out, and now you’re taking the world by storm!

Jackie — Happy National Registered Dietitan’s Day! I miss you, and hope we can see each other soon.

5 thoughts on “Transitions

  1. I have a feeling you know a lot of Julias, but, if you’re talking about me, you are amazing and I hope that I end up being as awesome as you. I read your blog all the time so that I can keep track of all the cool things I need to do with my life! And you totally inspire me to finish my thesis!

  2. I wrote to three people today too.
    Nancy – My BFF growing up
    Kathy – My lunch time buddy who is home sick
    Diana – My BG

    xx00 Mom
    P.S. I know you can sympathize with Joe Joe’s hours, since you worked the night shift for such a long time at WTOP. You’re a good wife Diana.

    • Very nice 🙂 And yes, I can sympathize…although his hours are a little more backwards…and it’s not easy when you go back and forth all the time between different shifts. At least my overnights were consistent!

Leave a Reply

