This Shiz, It’s Bananas…

…B-A-N-A-N-A-S. Feel free to play a little Gwen Stefani while you read this post, I think it adds a little something extra.

You all know I’m a fan of simple, easy recipes. And if you’re like me, you probably get sick of following directions a few steps in, which is why I can’t help but share this easy, no fail, Banana Nut Bread recipe that is one part calculated, one part whatever you want to make it, and all parts delicious. The kind of delicious that calls for an extra pot of coffee to be brewed on a Sunday morning (ok, technically it was past noon, but Sundays have the special quality of allowing ‘morning’ to extend as long as you need it to).

Banana Bread in general is pretty simple to make, but here’s how it went down in my kitchen:

  • 5 Over-ripe Bananas (I think the recipe called for less, but I like the extra banana flavor, and I wanted to get rid of all the gross brown bananas)
  • 1/3 Cup Melted Butter
  • One Egg
  • One Cup Sugar
  • 1 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1.5 Cups Flour
  • Chopped Walnuts (I used a lot, you make the call)
  • Pinch of Salt
  • Cinnamon
I didn’t have these in my kitchen this morning, but other add-ins to consider:
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Nutmeg
  • Pumpkin Pie Spice (you can never go wrong with Pumpkin Pie Spice in baked goods)

I used my cute little potato masher to mash the bananas, then added in everything else, with the flour going in last. I don’t have a loaf pan (is that even what they’re called?), so I baked this in an 8 inch round, and it worked out just fine. You could also use a muffin tin, just alter baking time of course. I baked mine at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

Pour coffee, cut warm banana bread, plop down onto couch with two sleeping dogs (dogs optional), and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

