Par for the Course

This past weekend was an interesting one, with a good mix of things on the calendar along with unscheduled time to manage. There was a balance of Getting Sh*t Done and stopping to smell the roses (figuratively and literally thanks to my beautiful V-Day bouquet), and I found myself thinking a lot about this stage I find myself in in life.

Saturday, for example, I finally motivated myself to paint the outdoor trim around our front door (check it off my list), and even decided to get a little crazy and repaint our house numbers. It’s insane how happy this before and after makes me:

         

And when the trim was freshly painted in all it’s glossy-white-glory, I found myself opening and closing our front door repeating, “Oh my gosh, it looks SO much better.” I may or may not have asked Joey to “just come look” a few times too many.

There I am on one hand, a girl who was way too excited about updated trim, and on the other I was also a girl with plans for a girls night in the city. It was a dinner date at a swanky wine bar with girls I hadn’t seen but for a handful of random encounters since High School. It ended up being a fun night filled with lots of wine, great food, and conversation that ranged from babies, weddings and relationships to “whatever happened to _____” and “Omg, do you remember when_______.” It was fun to see just how far we’ve all come since 2002, but also how, on some level, we’re all still those same girls from way back when. Juxtaposed to my afternoon in homeowning-adventures, I realized that maybe this is all just par for the growing up course.

You hold on to the person you are, but continue to create the person you want to become. You learn new skills, work to stay off the HOA’s bad-list and gain a multitude of responsibilities, but simultaneously you still find time to get dolled up for an evening out, you learn that housework should always come second to time with family and friends, and you work to create the magic that life is really about. We only get this one wild and crazy life, so swing the club, yell “fore” and just enjoy where each drive takes you.

One thought on “Par for the Course

  1. Pingback: Your Choices Are Half Chance « The D Spot

Leave a Reply

