Winter Is Coming

10 points if you got the headline reference.

Now that the holidays are behind us, and temperatures are dropping into the 20s, it feels like it’s officially winter. And I saw snow flurries on the way into work today, so that makes it officially officially winter. I can’t say it’s my favorite time of year. With no 24/7 Christmas music on the radio to make freezing my arse off on cold leather seats each morning worthwhile and no twinkley tree to cozy up next to in the living room to help me forget it’s too miserable to do anything outside, it feels like the magic of the season is gone.

I guess it’s time to create some magic of our own while we wait for spring. Magic in the form of dinner dates, movie nights, home projects, dogs playing in the snow, legal name changes, travel plans and new hobbies.  Maybe things will get really crazy and I’ll find my way to the bottom of the laundry basket. Meaningless to you, magical to me.

Things are what we make of them. You can let the next several cold months of winter be mundane, or you can look winter in the face, declare yourself a badass and let her know who’s boss. I’m aiming for the latter.

10 points to Mary for knowing it’s a reference to Game of Thrones. 4 more months 😉

8 thoughts on “Winter Is Coming

  1. Thank you for giving me the motivation and enthusiasm to bring out my inner badass and show winter who is boss!! 🙂 NO more cuddling up on the couch with my favorite blanket all weekend. haha!

  2. UMMMMMM, YOU JUST MADE A GAME OF THRONES REFERENCE. One more reason I love you guys. 😀 {Also, agreed about Joffery. Although I’m in the middle of the second book, so I actually KNOW what happens, buuuut . . . }

    • Ok, now I really have to order that ‘I Heart Raven’ tee 🙂 And I hate you for knowing but hate me more for not being smart enough to pick up the darn books and read them!!

  3. Pingback: Something Old, Something New « The D Spot

  4. Pingback: Par for the Course « The D Spot

Leave a Reply

