My Cup Runneth Over

Well, time to let the cat out of the bag.

Joey & I have decided to get married sooner rather than later, and will say our “I dos” on December, 9 — yes, 2011, as in 4 weeks from today! We’ll be married in a private ceremony followed by a small dinner reception, and then some late night party action with our friends. I mean, it’s a Friday night, so why not?!

While I could write a novel on the wedding thoughts I’ve wrangled with since becoming engaged, and maybe some day I’ll do a longer post on the issue, the only thing worth focusing on now is that we are really freakin’ happy with our decision.

I say my cup runneth over because this whole time I’ve been so worried about disappointing the people that we love, and worried that people would think a small wedding means we don’t value their friendships, but I could seriously cry (and really did tear up more than once) at the responses I’ve gotten from everyone. Some wise beyond wise, some ridiculously funny, all have found their way into my heart.

All that is important is the memory of Joey’s face when he says, “I do.” All that is necessary will be with you then.

How big your party is has no relation to how happy your marriage is, and the latter is infinitely more important.

I am thrilled for you Diana, and even more thrilled for Joey in that…he gets YOU!!! For his love, his bride, his partner and best friend…..what a lucky man he is 😉 Your inner voice will never lead you astray.

You and Joey are such an amazing, special couple and you’re going to freaking love being husband and wife 🙂

I should get you a Sari for your after party

Joey,  I fully expect to be chugging Natty Lights with lime with you by the end of the night.

I think I  might have to get the phrase “All that is necessary will be with you then” engraved onto a frame. Like I said, wise beyond wise. Thank you JB.

I leave you with our story.

(If you have trouble viewing, you can also find it here: http://vimeo.com/31178005)

15 thoughts on “My Cup Runneth Over

  1. MY LIFE GOAL HAS BEEN ACHIEVED!! I made it onto the blog!!

    Now that I’ve achieved my dreams can I stop doing my homework?

    But seriously, congratulations. So so so excited for you.

    Also, your video is too cute. Stop it. It’s like you’re going to live happily ever after or something ; )

    • I need to do an “Ode to Gulia” post one of these days! Then you can retire! Yes, stop doing homework, you have my permission 😉 Glad you liked the video — it’s pretty cheesy but it makes me smile 🙂

  2. Diana, my almost “new daughter in law”, U have always had a special way of letting yr heart guide u in the right direction. yr wedding day will be celebrated by those whom u both love & love u in return whether near or far & wishing u life’s greatest blessings. May God bless u both. Mom (Sandi)

  3. OMG! GET OUT! That is SO exciting!! I’m so happy for you two! YAYYY! And DO NOT worry about what other people think (i tend to do it too eek!) because the most important thing is that you two are in love, you’re tying the knot and you’re starting your happily ever after together. I love it! Also, your slideshow is adorbs. Can’t wait to talk details during our Twilight date!! xoxo

  4. I know I have told you this a million times but words can’t express how happy I am for you and Joey! As long as I have known you, I can’t think of a time that I have heard you this happy!

  5. Diana- I’m so excited for you and Joey! You two are such an amazing couple who have grown so much with each other and are basically already married… this is just making this official. Yay for Dec. 9th!

  6. First of all….HOORRRAAAYYY!!!! Justin and I are so happy for you both!

    Second of all, just because I’m posting a comment, and telling you how happy we are, and you and I are like twins, and Justin and Joey are truly separated at birth…. does not mean you must invite us 😉 If anyone understands headcounts, its this sister! Please know that we will be thinking of you both and I’m so proud of you for doing what you want and screwing all the rest!

    Now, the real issue…honeymoon? Please tell me you’re going somewhere fabulous in Dec. so that I can live vicariously through your blissful travels while I scramble through finals!

  7. Pingback: Sticking A Fork in 2011 « The D Spot

Leave a Reply

