Do Not Pass Go

When it comes to asking for anything in life, it’s all about the approach, right? Well, I wanted to breach the Chalkboard Wall idea with Joey and I knew he was going to think I’m nuts, so I implemented the “Tuck & Roll” approach. You know, where you tuck the actually thing you’re asking about into a conversation about other things, and then roll right past it like you didn’t really ask a question but rather stated a fact. It went a little something like this:

Me: I was thinking, since next weekend we don’t really have anything going on, we should go to Lowes because we really need to paint the trim on the door before we get in trouble with the HOA people…

J: uh huh…

Me:…and I was thinking that while we are there I’ll buy some Oil Rubbed Bronze spraypaint to freshen up the house numbers and the outside light fixture, and we should probably get some good shears to trim back that out of control tree…

J: yeah…

Me:…and then I’m also planning on buying some of that really cool chalkboard paint andpaintingthiswallinthekitchenlikeagiantchalkboardit’slikethisreallycoolthingthatyouseeinpotterybarnmagazinesand itwillbeawesome.Β  So who do the Redskins play next week?

J: The Eagles. Wait – what? Chalkboard?…blah blah…no way…blippity blah…resale value…

Me: No it’s cool, I promise. We’ll talk about it later. (Exit stage right)

😦 Epic Fail.

I guess I might need to implement the Plan B Approach: Don’t Ask For Permission, Ask For Forgiveness.

2 thoughts on “Do Not Pass Go

  1. You should have been a teacher. You could write all day on a blackboard πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Do you think Joe Joe has selective hearing πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Scenes from a Saturday: The Barn Show « The D Spot

Leave a Reply

