Wedding Weekend

Friday morning we’re dropping the kids dogs off at grandpop’s house, and heading up to Pennsylvania for Jackie’s BIG DAY (remember we’ve already had her fab 1950s bridal shower, and awesome Atlantic City bachelorette). I’m so honored to be her bridesmaid, and to stand next to her during one of the biggest moments of her life. It’s all making me feel pretty nostalgic actually. You see, Jackie’s my cousin and I’ve known this girl since the days of Mom Mom spinning us in her oversized recliner singing, “Here we go round the mulberry bush.” Or days of fighting with my brother in the kitchen while Jackie wore a fuzzy pink tiara…

If I said the words “Little Mermaid,” “Firetruck Santa” or “Grandfather Clock,” she’d know exactly what I was referring to. And I think there’s something so special about those relationships — where the circles of family and friend intersect and you find the definition of your relationship falls in that sweet spot on the venn diagram.

Jackie, since we were both destined to be the sole girls in our families sandwiched between two boys, you are truly like a sister to me (getting my hand-me-down clothes and all). You’re going to be a beautiful bride, and I can’t wait to see you walk down the aisle to meet your Prince Eric…err I mean Ryan ((Little Mermaid reference)).

4 thoughts on “Wedding Weekend

  1. Very sweet. Mom Mom would be so proud of you girls and what a tribute to her and Pop Pop that the time you spent at her house were so special.
    Now, no crying at the alter, or you’ll make me cry. Love ya. xx00 mom

  2. This was such a beautiful post, you just made me cry!!! I LOVE YOU, you have been an amazing cousin/sister to me and I couldn’t ask for a better bridesmaid to stand by my side. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate all you have done for me- trips back and forth to Philadelphia, bridesmaid brunch followed by drinks and dancing, vintage sacrament, sexy sacraments, AC bash. You have been a great support system and I know Mom Mom Madeline and Pop Pop are proud! Oh, and I am pretty sure all of my friends are in love with you:) Thank you for everything, I love you!!

Leave a Reply

