The Art of Planning Nothing

As much as I cherish a weekend at home with nothing on the agenda, I also struggle with wanting to fill the blank slate with a million things.

What, we have nothing to do Saturday? I should go to the gym in the morning, run over to Lowes to get paint for the second floor bathroom, paint the second floor bathroom, plan on going to the pool, go get my oil changed, plan on going shopping for the wedges I’ve been looking for, do some laundry, vacuum the house and figure out who’s around at night to go grab dinner. 

Breathe.

It’s hard for me NOT to have a plan. When I see an open day, I feel like it’s an opportunity to do every. single. thing. I haven’t gotten done in the past couple of weeks, and then feel guilty when I barely scratch the surface.

I’m sure there are women out there who could in an open-Saturday’s-time do all the things I need to do, plus find time to get a pedicure and pick some freakin’ fresh flowers for their spotless gourmet kitchen. But in the words of Elizabeth Bennet (circa the 2005 movie version b/c I can’ recall if it was actually in the book or not), ” I never saw such a woman. She would certainly be a fearsome thing to behold.”

So this weekend, I’m going let myself off the hook, and try to master the art of planning nothing. When I wake up, maybe I’ll decide I want to go back to sleep or maybe I’ll decide I want to go to the gym. But if I set no expectations for myself, then I can’t let myself down. Sounds like a plan to me! Oh crap…

Does it count as planning if I’m planning not to have a plan? This may be harder than I thought.

9 thoughts on “The Art of Planning Nothing

  1. Thank goodness I read this yesterday because today (Saturday), Eric and I woke up at 11 am!!!!!! I had planned to do 3 things before 11am — all gone! But I didn’t feel guilty because of your post. Hahaha.

  2. Diana…we are so seriously related!!!! I actually have a book called The Art of Doing Nothing. It TEACHES you to do NOTHING. But it makes me itchy to even read it. So I don’t.

  3. Pingback: Bay Day…And a Dress « The D Spot

  4. Pingback: Blog: 2011 In Review « The D Spot

  5. Pingback: Twister « The D Spot

Leave a Reply

