You Can Go With This, Or You Can Go With That

As I drove to work the other morning and polished off half a box of Charleston Chew Minis for ‘breakfast’, it got me thinking about choices. About how every day we make choices. Lots of them. And those choices impact us short-term, and long-term.

Take my candy binge. I chose to eat not one, but half a box, and it made me happy to know that I’m a grown up and I can decide if I want to have candy for breakfast and no one can stop me (ironic?). Now, if I had candy for breakfast EVERY DAY then the long-term ramifications wouldn’t be so pleasant.

Luckily, I also choose to be aware and in control of my health through diet and exercise. It’s a luxury I have to make that choice, as my friend Hilary could tell us as she studies and immerses herself in women’s health care in Africa.

Health & Wealth.

Think about the choices you’ve made in the past few days that impact those two things. Every day we have countless opportunities to improve (or not) our health & wealth.

Yesterday I chose not to hit the “purchase” button on  $380 worth of stuff from AnnTaylorLoft.com, but I also chose to keep the tab open on my computer in case I changed my mind. I work hard. I make a steady income. I can afford new clothes. But is that what I want to spend my money on right now? The verdict is still out.

And as far as health, it’s more than just our food choices and whether or not we go to the gym. It’s mental health too. Did you smile and say hello to the person in the hall today, or did you choose to just walk by? When you get home after a long day, do you choose to take out your frustrations on the person you live with or do you choose instead to be happy, and focus on the things you love about being home?

Mental health is a tricky thing, and I’m not saying it’s as easy for everyone to choose Happy over Sad, but I do think we all have a certain ability to rally the optimist inside when we’re feeling down, and choose to turn things around.

So your D-Spot PSA (it has been awhile!) is to think about the choices you’re making today — everything from what you choose to eat for lunch to  how you choose to spend your free time to how you choose to interact with those around you.

Oh, and if you’re in the vicinity of a CVS or something, choose to buy a box of Charleston Chew Minis because they’re the shiz.

Leave a Reply

