Clarisonic – Total Hype or Worth the Money?

You guys were so helpful with the Kindle reviews that I’ve got another one to throw at you. I’m debating on whether or not the Clarisonic (pictured above) is worth the hefty price tag of around $175 (somewhere my Mom just gasped). I knooooow this thing ain’t cheap, but all the reviews I’m reading are convincing me that this cleansing brush is well worth its weight. From the products website:

Our original 2-speed Sonic Skin Cleansing System redefined skin cleansing to give you cleaner, healthier skin. Sonic Skin Cleansing improves skin tone, reduces the appearance of pore size and helps skin care products work their best. The Clarisonic Skin Cleansing System uses a patented sonic frequency of more than 300 movements per second to clean, soften and smooth skin. In just 60 seconds, the micro-massage action removes 6X more makeup and 2X more dirt and oil than cleansing with your hands alone. Removing more dirt and oil from your pores also helps products work more effectively.

I consulted my original skin-care guru, the one and only NYCathy, who confessed she had never heard of the gadget. Am I totally falling for the marketing hype??? I see this thing every time I pass a Sephora, or open a beauty magazine. But if no one is using it in Cath’s super-posh Manhattan circle, then maybe I’m a total square for thinking this little brush with the big price tag is the answer to all my skin care dilemmas.

Anyone out there actually ever use this thing??? Pray tell…

9 thoughts on “Clarisonic – Total Hype or Worth the Money?

  1. I would send this to Channel 4, Liz Crenshaw and ask her to test it in her”Does it REally Do That Segment” and offer to be one of the testers for the segment.

  2. I want a Clarisonic so bad! I use something similar by Neutrogena that I bought years ago. You stick these little sandpapery, blue discs on the place where the brush would be, wet it, then move it over your face, one minute per area. I think it’s really good at exfoliating; my skin feels really soft after I do it. It is probably worthless.

    • I bought one of those neutrogena wave things too! They do make your skin feel nice, but it only vibrates really. And now I can’t even get it to work and I have a whole box of the little discs left – boo!

  3. I will admit my dermatologist said that these type of skin buffers are a good idea. And I have heard good things about this one. Get one and let us know how it works out 🙂
    I bet Princess Kate has one.

    • Well if your derm said it, that is definitely a plus! I think I’m going to buy it…the kindle may have to wait now though 😦

      I bet Princess Kate not only has one, but has a person whose sole job is to buff her face for one-minute twice a day 🙂

Leave a Reply

