Just Knot for Me

 

Days after we got engaged, I did what every normal “on cloud 9” newly engaged girl does days after they get engaged — created a profile at The Knot.

Six weeks later, I unsubscribed.

And it was liberating.

You see, every day, sometimes more than once a day, I was getting emails from The Knot. “Top 50 trendy hairstyles”, “Get your Soon-to-be-Mrs. gear NOW”, “Choosing the perfect dress that will make all your dreams come true.”  Delete. Delete. Delete. It’s all just too much. Joey and I are still trying to figure out how to “do us” and all this “wedding industry” propaganda is just clouding my brain.

Am I excited to be engaged? YES. Am I happy about the idea of marrying my best friend? HELL YES. Is it ok if you love The Knot and it was/is your go-to wedding resource? ABSOLUTELY. But it’s just not for me. And by clicking that ‘unsubscribe” button, I reaffirmed to myself that that’s ok too.

3 thoughts on “Just Knot for Me

  1. I don’t know how I stumbled on your blog (actually, I was searching through pics on Google for something else and voila), but just had to tell you as a person planning a wedding who is not the knot type (ha!), my favorite blog to read through this process has been: http://2000dollarwedding.com/

    Good posts – kept me sane and grounded and down to Earth through this whole thing.

    Okay, just had to say that! I promise I am not a weirdo or a strange blog promoter 🙂

    -Kristen

    • So glad you stumbled in!! I can’t wait to check out that website, thanks for the great advice. I think us ‘not knotty’ brides need to stick together 😉 Another blog I’ve come to really appreciate is apracticalwedding.com. Good luck with your wedding, and congratulations!

  2. Pingback: Pulling the Trigger « The D Spot

Leave a Reply

