The Inner Badass

One of my favorite blogs, Enjoying the Small Things , posted a great entry about the “inner badass” and I’ve been trying to conjure mine up all day. She sounds a little bit like this:

“I don’t care if the dog was sick at 2:30 a.m. and you couldn’t fall back to sleep until 4. You’re dragging your butt to spin tonight to get your fitness on and there are two things you can do about it – nothing, or like it.”

She’s fierce that inner badass of mine. And you know what, I AM going to spin tonight. And when I look up at the clock and realize I still have a full 30 minutes left before the instructor says those magical words, “Last working song before cool down,” my inner badass is going to tell me to push harder, and make those minutes count. She’ll tell me that just when I think I can’t do anymore, I’ll get my second wind and feel so good that when it’s time to cool down I’ll feel like I’m just getting started.

We all have an inner badass. It’s the voice inside that drags you out of bed on a Saturday morning for hot yoga, or wills you to freshen up your makeup on a Friday night and go out with the girls. The voice that says, “Man up! Don’t you KNOW how capable you are?!” And the truth of the matter is that when we listen to our inner badass, good things happen. So when’s the last time you listened to yours?

6 thoughts on “The Inner Badass

  1. Pingback: Tonight We Lift | The D Spot

  2. Pingback: The Little Blog that Could | The D Spot

  3. Pingback: Life Feels A Lot Like This… « The D Spot

  4. Pingback: I.O.U. « The D Spot

  5. Pingback: Ho Ho Holy Moly It’s Almost Xmas! « The D Spot

  6. Pingback: When Life Happens | The D Spot

Leave a Reply

