The “Stuff” They Carried

It’s amazing how much “stuff” we accumulate over the years. Things that mean so much we can’t stand the thought of tossing them away, but at the same time mean so little they sit in a box, packed away in an old dusty basement/closet/attic/[insert storage place of your choice here].

Well, I got the inevitable email from my dad the other week – in a nutshell it said, “It’s time to get your stuff out of the basement.” It was akin to the email from a few years ago that said, “It’s time you get your own cellphone contract, I’m taking you off the family plan.” Growing pains.

So today Joey was kind enough to come with me to move all my “stuff” out of my Dad’s basement. On the way there, Joey asked how many boxes he thought I had.

“I think 4, or maybe 6.”

I was a little off.

My Stuff

I couldn’t believe how much “stuff” I really had. And what it all was, I couldn’t tell you! I remember uttering something to the effect of, “I wish you could just throw all this out, since I don’t even know what it is, I’ll never miss it.”

It’s when you start exploring what’s inside the boxes that you get all emotionally attached again. I’ve gotten good at purging though. But as I made my way through one box this evening, tossing as I went along, I got the ‘ol “Awww, don’t throw that out!” from Joey more than once. Despite him being the little hoarding-devil on my shoulder, I soldiered on and tossed two trash bags worth of “stuff” in the garbage.

There’s something very cleansing about de-cluttering your life in a literal sense. All my earthly possessions and now physically in my possession, and the more I’m able to scale down the pile the better off I’ll be. I don’t need boxes of junk following me around. Simplify. Simplify.

I don’t have the energy to tackle anymore tonight, but here are just a few goodies I found as I peeked into the boxes that lie ahead of me:

In case crystal tattoos make a comeback???

A good find! Guess it has been awhile since my last hike!

Should I be offended neither of my parents wanted to keep this little gem?

Prom anyone? Further proof Joey and I have been together for a loooong time. His comment about this picture, “O yeah, I remember you were mad at me because I didn’t smile.” Ha! Still mad.
Vintage NYCathy. Cath, I couldn’t resist posting this!
8 thoughts on “The “Stuff” They Carried

  1. HAH! I am a lioness!!!!

    Di, I feel the same way. When I moved a few months ago I was floored by the amount of junk that I accumulated in 3 years! I vowed to change my ways, I guess only time will tell, huh? πŸ˜‰ xo

  2. I love this post! And I also love the hilarious photo booth shots of you and Joey in the background of NYCathy’s photo. I have WAY too much stuff in my parents basement too. They’re gonna make me move it out soon. πŸ™‚

  3. I don’t know why I didn’t have your Christmas Weath picture in your Baby Book. I have so many other treasure things of my Diana.
    Love that pic of you and Joe Joe. I can still remember all the stores we went to to find that dress, and ended up driving to Tysons Corner to find it. Ohhhh, the things we Moms do for our Baby Girls.
    xx00xx

  4. Pingback: Scenes from a Saturday: Bayside « The D Spot

Leave a Reply

