What Will They Say About You?

Today’s Daily Post question: What do you want to be remembered for? Holy heaviness – how do you answer that question? All I can picture is my own funeral and thinking about what I would want people to say. And even then, once I get past the morbidity of it all, I can’t come up with a great answer.

Lets start by listing the things I’m fairly certain I won’t be remembered for:

  • Finding a cure for cancer
  • Swimming the Atlantic Ocean
  • Going over Niagra Falls in a barrel
  • Having 8 kids and a reality show
  • Scoring the winning touchdown in a Super Bowl
  • Living with chimpanzees and writing about it
  • Coming up with the idea for Harry Potter
  • Winning 5 Emmys
  • Being the first woman to walk on the moon
  • Being the mother of David Beckham’s children (darn!)

I don’t envision leaving behind any lasting legacy – I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or if I’m not aiming high enough.

As I think back to the people I remember in my life, I don’t remember them for any one particular reason, but rather a million small reasons. It’s their laugh, or their smile. Their cooking or the things we used to do together. So at the end of the day, and at the end of my days (which god willing won’t be for a very very long time), just being remembered is good enough for me.

3 thoughts on “What Will They Say About You?

  1. I’ll be remembered for having the greatest kids ever!!!!
    This is a deep blog today. Maybe we have all been listening to too much of the recent media coverage.

Leave a Reply

