Little Space, Little Project…

…big time satisfaction! As you know, I’m always looking for ways to add some style to our humble abode. I get overwhelmed when I think about all the projects I want to do – paint rooms, tile floors, replace vanities, update mirrors, update appliances, get new window treatments etc, etc, etc. It makes my head spin to the point of total home design paralyzation. So I decided to pick one, easy, doable-in-a-day project to tackle and check off my list — our front entrance. Here’s what it looks like on a normal bad day:

Small, nothing special. Basically a good place to throw boxes that need to go out in the recycle pile. But I knew it had a little potential. So I drew a sketch of what I envisioned for the space:

Are you laughing at my drawing abilities???

I’ve been dying to hang my “Keep Calm” print so I thought it might make a good addition to a small shelf-hook combo with a storage ottoman below. Just a cozy little nook where you can sit to take off your shoes, or hang your keys.

The space is only 31″ wide, so I knew finding a decent bench might be a challenge. I fell in love with an entryway bench from Crate & Barrel but priced at nearly $400 it wasn’t only too wide, but also much more than I wanted to spend on this tiny-space makeover.

So armed with a tape measure and a sketch I headed over to Homegoods and Marshalls.

 

Have I told you how much I love those stores? Not only did I find an awesome mirror/shelf/key hook combo (sorry Keep Calm print, we’ll find another spot for you) but I also found a charming storage ottoman that was the perfect size. A little measuring and two nails later, here’s the final product:

 

I couldn’t be happier with the results! Now, I know the carpet isn’t the most attractive, but with amount of dirt/leaves/twigs that Moose drags in on a daily basis, it’s the most practical, so it stays. Here’s the breakdown of the rest…

 

I adore this piece! I found it at Homegoods and it was just as nice and sturdy as similar pieces I’ve seen at Pottery Barn and Crate & Barrel. Priced at only $50, picking it up was a no brainer.

I found the little “Welcome to our home” block at Marshalls for $2, pulled the little vase out of some things we have stored away, cut a few twigs off our holly bush and VIOLA! ((Hi Mom!!))

 

And here’s the storage bench (again, ignore the beautiful carpet beneath ;)). I picked this up at Marshalls for $50. Not only was it the perfect size, but it offers additional storage and has a super charming, light blue, french inspired print. Best part is that it’s light enough to pull over into the living room if we ever needed an extra seat. Multi-functionality is always a plus in small spaces!

So there’s my little project that I can now cross off my list. All said and done it cost less than $110 dollars and took a couple of hours max if you include shopping. Now to decide what’s next…

 

 

 

One thought on “Little Space, Little Project…

  1. Love what you did with the space. Pics are great. Love you put your Mama in the pic. Had a lot of fun at your place yesterday.
    Happy New Year.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

