Make S.M.A.R.T Resolutions!

A couple years ago my New Year’s Resolution was to never again make a New Year’s Resolution – and it might be the ONLY resolution I’ve ever stuck with! Success. Finally.

But if my filled-to-the-brim spin class on Monday was any indication, there are still a lot of you making those resolutions. If you fall into that category, I learned something today from a dietitian that might be able to help you stick with your resolve past January 2. Make S.M.A.R.T resolutions: Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic and Time Oriented.

For example, instead of saying “I’m going to lose weight” you would say “I’m going to run three days a week, after work for 20 minutes.” It works for non-health related resolutions too. Instead of saying “I’m going to be a better friend” you should say “I’m going to make one phone call every Saturday afternoon to a person I’ve been meaning to catch up with.” You get the picture!

Other things to remember: It takes 28 days to form a habit, so give yourself time, pace yourself and don’t think of resolutions as “all or nothing” prospects. We all need a little wiggle room here and there. Happy (Almost) 2011!!

 

One thought on “Make S.M.A.R.T Resolutions!

Leave a Reply

