That Christmas Magic

Growing up, Christmas Eve meant going to Mom Mom and Pop Pop’s house with ALL the cousins (check out those stockings!), getting to open the first of our presents and then waiting for Santa to come by on a firetruck and give us a gift out of his big red sack. All these years later, I never really question how the whole firetruck thing worked, because even now the memory of it reminds me of the magic that is Christmastime.

The tradition started to change after 1995. My Mom Mom passed away, slowly families moved, and of course kids grew up. But I still remember those Christmas Eves like they were yesterday. I remember getting a stuffed dog where you opened up its tummy and found puppies (my cousin’s dog had more puppies than mine, I was totally jealous!), I remember we used to get about $10 in our stockings and back then it felt like all the money in the world. But more than the gifts are the memories of jumping on the upstairs beds with my cousins, making Mom Mom spin us in the chair and sing “here we go round the mulberry bush…”, or waiting on the screened in porch listening so hard for the sound of firetruck sirens.

It’s so easy to get caught up in the shopping and the wish lists, stressing over traffic at the mall and all the to-do lists. And I bet if you think back real hard, to your fondest Christmas memory, it probably has very little to do with something you unwrapped. There’s more love in these photos than in anything I’ll ever find under the tree. And THAT, my friends, is the true magic of Christmas.

6 thoughts on “That Christmas Magic

  1. Your memories and writing brought tears to my eyes. The memories you have of Christmas Eve are the same memories I cherish. Sorry about the puppy litter toy. Guess Santa gave you the one on the sale aisle 🙂 🙂 All kidding aside, MomMom loved Christmas Eve with you kids more then anything. I still laugh when I think of her saying (after we had all been there several hours and the gifts opened). “OK,,,,, now everyone GO HOME” 🙂 🙂 Thanks for sharing. YOUR THE BEST!!

  2. Aw, Diana! Thanks for making me cry my eyes out! Christmas at Mom Mom’s and Pop Pop’s was awesome. I have that spinny chair in my living room and I always think about spinning it and singing that song…well, sometimes I still do it.

    Merry Christmas, cousin!

    ~ Amy Lyn

    • I would hope you still spin in it 🙂 And I totally cried writing that, so glad I wasn’t the only one. Thanks for reading my silly blog! Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and that all is well. Xoxo

  3. Pingback: The Little Blog that Could | The D Spot

Leave a Reply

