Agree to Disagree

image

While looking up some info on heart attacks this afternoon for a work related project, I came across this fun article on 27 Ways Pets Can Improve Your Health. I laughed when I got to number three:

Keep Blood Pressure in Check

You still have to watch your weight and exercise. But having a pet can help you manage your blood pressure. In one study of 240 married couples, pet owners had lower blood pressure and lower heart rates during rest than people who did not own a pet. That held true whether they were at rest or undergoing stress tests. And another study showed that children with hypertension actually lowered their blood pressure while petting their dog.

Now I don’t know what type of pet those 240 couples had, but I’d have to say my darling little lug, Moose (look at that innocent face!), does more to RAISE my blood pressure than lower it. Here are some of the most commonly used phrases around our house:

“Moose, NO!!!”

“Moose! DROP IT!”

“MOOSE! LEAVE IT!!!”

“BAD DOG! Drop that shoe! BAD! DOG!”

“MOOSE get down!!!…..I SAID GET DOWN!”

“JOOOOEEEEEEY! STOP HIM, he has your sock!!!!”

Wow, I can feel the blood coursing through my veins just from writing that. One day my dog will have manners.  One day. And maybe then I’ll have lower blood pressure.

2 thoughts on “Agree to Disagree

Leave a Reply

