Be Here, Now

It dawned on me this morning, as I was already ready to pull my hair out before the ripe hour of 9a, that I think I’ve spent the better part of 4 years STRESSED OUT!

Whether it was the vampire-like living because of my hours or now just the lack of really living because of my hours, it’s definitely taking a toll on my brain and I can only imagine what it’s doing to me physically. Good thing I have a phobia of doctors – denial is bliss.

In the spirit of being positive I googled “tips to destress.” Exercise – no time! Eat right – I’m trying! Have fun – well no crap! Now the lame answers for how to kick stress were stressing me out.

Then I remembered the philosophy my amazing friend Debbie told me not too long ago – “Be here, now.”

I remember telling her how I’m RARELY “here,now” because I’m always thinking about work, and what email just popped through, or its worrying about the house and all the cleaning that’s piling up, etc.

So maybe the answer to de-stressing is trying to be where I am, focusing on who I’m with, when and where I’m there and with them. I think we can all benefit from trying to do that. No worrying about tomorrow, no stressing over what other people are doing or saying, or what you might be missing.

Be here, now.

Simple. To the point. And I don’t even have to put on a sports bra to do it.

(PHOTO: Arches National Park. Where nothing else mattered.)

3 thoughts on “Be Here, Now

  1. Pingback: Life Lessons: A Dog’s Eye View | The D Spot

Leave a Reply

